Family life · Guide

Kids’ classes: gymnastics, ballet or art

Starting ages for gymnastics, ballet and art, and what a trial shows you. Plus what a term costs, what to ask, and lower-cost classes at a community centre.

By the RaisingAngels.sg editorial team · Facts checked · 6 min read

Share

Paper cut-out of a pair of ballet shoes, a paint palette with a brush and a ball on a gym mat, on a red ground.

Quick answer

Try one trial class before you pay for a term. Many classes start at 3 or 4. Private classes we checked cost about S$30 to S$50 a lesson; community centre courses cost less.

Work out yours →

The useful number: SkillsFuture Credit is for adults. The CDA pays only for enrichment run by your child’s preschool, since 1 May 2025.

Who is this for?

Parents choosing a first gymnastics, ballet or art class for a child aged about 2 to 12. Providers below are examples, listed A to Z. We do not rank them.

What age can my child start?

Starting ages for gymnastics, ballet and art classes
ClassStarting ages we found
GymnasticsSingapore Gymnastics runs KinderGym for young children under 6 years old and their parents or caregivers. Karpenko Gymnastics Academy’s basic class is for ages 3 to 4.
BalletThe Royal Academy of Dance recommends age 5 for its first exam level and 6 for the next. AQ Dance’s Pre-Primary class is for 4.5 to 5.5 year olds.
ArtArtify Studio and the OnePA course in Hougang take ages 4 to 12.

Source: Singapore Gymnastics — KinderGym ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

Source: Royal Academy of Dance — Before your exam ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

Source: OnePA — Children's Art, Hougang Zone 3 RN ↗ (opens in new tab)Data period: 6 November 2026 to 8 January 2027Last checked:

What does a trial class tell you?

  • Whether your child wants to go back. Ask them on the way home.
  • How many children there are for each teacher.
  • How the teacher handles a shy or upset child.
  • For gymnastics: mats on the floor and a coach next to each child on equipment.
  • Whether you can watch, and how the class ends.

What does a term cost?

From each provider’s own page on 16 October 2026, A to Z within each kind of class, not ranked:

Class fees from each provider’s own page, A to Z, not ranked
ProviderFeeTrial
Karpenko Gymnastics Academy
Gymnastics
S$428 plus GST for 10 lessons of 60 minutes, ages 3 to 4Trial S$50
The Junior Gymnastics
Gymnastics
S$480 a term of 12 lessons; the page carries no dateTrial S$50
AQ Dance
Ballet
from S$320 a term of 10 lessons; Pre-Primary for 4.5 to 5.5 year olds, 45 minutesNo trial price published
OnePA, Nee Soon Central CC
Ballet
S$128 to S$138 for 8 lessons of 45 minutesNo trial price published
ARTARY
Art
S$50.30 a class, or S$46.78 a class paying a term of 12No trial price published
Artify Studio
Art
S$180 for 4 sessions or S$486 for 12, about 90 minutes each, ages 4 to 12Trial S$30
OnePA, Hougang Zone 3 RN
Art
S$100 plus S$20 materials for 8 sessions of 1.5 hours, ages 4 to 12No trial price published

Our estimate: about S$30 to S$50 a lesson at the private centres above, and S$12 to S$17 at the CC courses, before GST and materials. Fees change each term.

What should we ask before we pay?

Tick each one as you ask. Ticks stay on this page only.

Questions to ask

Is there any subsidy for kids’ classes?

  • SkillsFuture Credit is for Singapore Citizens aged 25 and above, so it does not pay for children’s classes.
  • The CDA can pay for enrichment programmes offered by preschools, since 1 May 2025. MSF’s list of approved institutions has no gym, dance or art schools.
  • ActiveSG credits can pay part of some ActiveSG programmes. In October 2025, ActiveSG said they could offset 60% of school holiday programme fees. To use a child’s credits, link your child’s MyActiveSG+ account to yours.

Source: MySkillsFuture — SkillsFuture Credit ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

Source: MSF — CDA use to be discontinued at optical shops and retail pharmacies ↗ (opens in new tab)Data period: article of 30 September 2025Last checked:

Source: MSF — Eligibility criteria to become a Baby Bonus Approved Institution ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

Source: ActiveSG — How to make every dollar count with your SG60 ActiveSG credits ↗ (opens in new tab)Data period: article of 31 October 2025Last checked:

Where can we find lower-cost classes?

  • Community centres: OnePA lists CC courses, and PAssion card members pay the member’s rate. A parent can add children under 18 to their own card at no extra cost.
  • For example, a Hougang children’s art course costs S$100 plus S$20 materials for 8 sessions. A Nee Soon ballet course costs S$128 to S$138 for 8 lessons.
  • Libraries: NLB runs programmes for children aged 0 to 12.
  • Free ideas at home and outdoors: see things to do with kids today.

Source: OnePA — PAssion Card membership ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

Source: OnePA — Children's Art, Hougang Zone 3 RN ↗ (opens in new tab)Data period: 6 November 2026 to 8 January 2027Last checked:

Source: OnePA — Ballet (Children) Pre-Primary, Nee Soon Central CC ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

Source: HealthHub Parent Hub — NLB programmes for children ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

What does this guide not tell you?

It does not say which class or centre is right for your child. Fees and ages change each term: check with the provider before you pay.

Printables for this guide

  • Free · No email needed

    Questions before adding a tuition class

    Set a reason, a budget and an end date before paying a tuition deposit. Name the problem, try free options, check the week and cost, and set a review date.

Fit classes into the budget

Add enrichment to your family’s yearly costs, for each child, year by year.

See what classes add to your costs → Find a free outing instead →

Frequently asked questions

What age can my child start ballet?

It depends on the school; some take 4 year olds. The Royal Academy of Dance recommends age 5 for its first exam level.

Can we use SkillsFuture or the CDA for classes?

SkillsFuture Credit is for adults aged 25 and above. The CDA pays only for enrichment run by your child’s preschool.

How much does a kids’ class cost?

At the private centres we checked, about S$30 to S$50 a lesson. CC courses cost less. This is our estimate from published fees.

Is a trial class worth paying for?

Yes, if it stops you paying for a term your child does not enjoy. Most trial classes we saw cost less than two lessons.

Keep this guide for the next big decision.

Build your own reading list and pick up where you left off with a free RaisingAngels account.

Save this guide →

Free account · Tools stay free without an account.

Sources & assumptions

Provider fees are each provider’s own, read on the date shown. We do not rank providers.

How we calculate →
Our editorial standards →