ExpectingSee all 16 steps →

Can I eat this when I’m pregnant?

Pregnancy food check

Type a local food or drink, from half-boiled eggs to durian and bird’s nest. See what HealthHub, KKH and SFA say, in their own words, and count today’s kopi and teh against the caffeine limit.

New to this? Read the short guide first →

Page updated · HealthHub, KKH and SFA pages checked

Step 1 Your numbers

Food or drink

Local names work too, such as see hum, lo hei or teh tarik.

Or browse all 54 foods and drinks

Eggs

Fish and seafood

Meat

Milk and cheese

Fruit and vegetables

Tonics and traditional foods

Drinks

Caffeine today (optional)

Count each drink. We add up the official ranges.

More drinks: café coffee, instant coffee, green and bottled tea

Nothing you enter leaves this device.

Step 2 Your result

Half-boiled eggs:

—

Who says so
—
Caffeine today
—
Against KKH’s limit
—

What the official pages say

Caffeine today

KKH: “LIMIT to less than 200mg of caffeine per day.” HPB: “Limit your intake of caffeinated beverages to no more than two cups per day.”

How we count kopi and teh

HPB’s figure for a cup of brewed coffee (250 ml). No official page gives a figure for coffeeshop kopi. HPB says kopi is mostly made with Robusta beans, which have more caffeine than Arabica (2.7% against 1.5%). Count the top of the range if you take kopi gao.

KKH: one cup of tea. HPB gives 14 to 70 mg for a standard cup of black tea.

Next: read the short guide, print the fridge sheet or see your check-up dates.

WhatsAppTelegram

More ways to share
Share image
Send the page link

What this result assumes

Each food quotes HealthHub, KKH or SFA word for word. We read every page on 17 October 2026. Our one-line summary never goes further than the quote. Where none of these pages covers a food, it says “No official guidance”. The caffeine counter uses KKH’s limit of less than 200 mg a day and each drink’s official range. No official page gives a figure for coffeeshop kopi, so we use HPB’s figure for a cup of brewed coffee. This is general guidance, not medical advice. Ask your doctor about your own diet.

Source: KKH: caffeine limit and cup figures ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

Source: HealthHub (HPB): caffeine in coffee and tea ↗ (opens in new tab)Data period: last reviewed 6 October 2026Last checked:

Source: HealthHub (HPB): foods to avoid in pregnancy ↗ (opens in new tab)Data period: eBook on the page, last reviewed 17 June 2026Last checked:

Source: SFA: food safety in pregnancy ↗ (opens in new tab)Period: not stated by the sourceLast checked:

Step 3 What next

Next in ExpectingHow much cash do we need for the birth?Delivery bill estimator →Also usefulWhen is my baby due, and what comes next?Due date and antenatal timeline →Read the guideWhat can I eat when pregnant in Singapore? →

Common questions

Is it safe to drink kopi when pregnant?

KKH says to limit caffeine to less than 200 mg a day, and HPB says no more than two cups of caffeinated drinks a day. The counter adds up your kopi and teh against that limit.

Can I eat half-boiled eggs when pregnant?

SFA says pregnant women should only eat eggs cooked until both the yolk and the white are solid. HPB lists half-boiled eggs among the foods to avoid.

Will papaya or pineapple cause a miscarriage?

HPB says there is no documented case of miscarriage from eating papaya, pineapple or “cooling” foods such as grass jelly and green bananas.

What if a food says “No official guidance”?

None of the HealthHub, KKH or SFA pages we read covers it. We say so rather than guess. Ask your doctor or antenatal clinic.